Note: This document reflects the initial language and the charter membership of the Public Health Council, which approved the document in June, 2005.

Purpose, Scope and Timing

The charge to the Public Health Council is to advise the Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS), the governor, the legislature and the public on progress in implementing DHFS' 10-year public health plan and coordination of responses to public health emergencies. The law requires that the Council include representatives of health care consumers, health care providers, health professions educators, local health departments and boards, public safety agencies, and the Public Health Advisory Committee established by the Secretary of DHFS.

The Council intends to be an action-oriented group that makes recommendations and decisions focusing on strategy and policy recommendations rather than tactics.

Vision of the Council

Wisconsin will become the healthiest state.

Mission of the Council

Assure safe and healthy people through evidence-based and cost-effective practice and policy recommendations.

Strategies the Council will Employ

  1. Study what exists now in terms of evidence-based public health and emergency preparedness practices and policies.
  2. Catalyze new efforts to develop evidence/science-based practices and policies.
  3. Develop and advocate for evidence-based practice and policy recommendations.
  4. Promote sustainability of evidence-based practices and policies.
  5. Prioritize 2010 objectives for the Council's review and decision making.
  6. Communicate the Council's progress to all stakeholders in an open and effective manner.
  7. Recommend actions and policies to address public health problems.

Membership and Staffing Responsibilities

The Council was created in 2004 with members appointed by Governor Jim Doyle.
The following people have been appointed by Governor Doyle to serve staggered three-year terms:

  1. Sandy Anderson, Baraboo, is President of St. Clare Hospital and St. Clare Meadows Care Center.
  2. Jose Avila, Milwaukee, is a Nurse Practitioner at the Kenosha Community Health Center and teaches a bilingual C.N.A. course at Gateway Technical College.
  3. Bevan Baker, Milwaukee, is the City of Milwaukee Commissioner of Health.
  4. John Bartkowski, Whitefish Bay, is the CEO of the Sixteenth Street Community Health Center and Associate Professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin.
  5. Jayne Bielecki, Stanley, is on the academic staff at UW-Eau Claire in the Family Health Nursing Department.
  6. Christopher Fischer, Appleton, is a firefighter with the Appleton Fire Department and is a member of the North East Regional Level A Haz-Mat Team.
  7. Catherine Frey, Madison, is the Assistant Director for the Wisconsin Partnership Fund for a Healthy Future at the UW Medical School.
  8. Gary Gilmore, La Crosse, is a professor of community health and Director of Graduate Community Health Programs at UW-La Crosse.
  9. Stephen Hargarten, Shorewood, serves as chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin and is the Director of the Injury Research Center and Firearm Injury Research Center at the Medical College.
  10. Terri Kramolis, Ashland, is the Public Health Supervisor and Health Officer at the Ashland County Health Department.
  11. Charles LaRoque, Spooner, is a physician for St. Croix Chippewa Tribe of Wisconsin in Hertel.
  12. Loren Leshan, Milwaukee, is the Medical Director of the Visiting Nurse Association at Aurora Health Care in West Allis.
  13. Corazon Loteyro, Mercer, is a family physician at Grand View Health Systems in Mercer.
  14. June Munro, Green Bay, is a former senior staff nurse at St. Mary's Hospital.
  15. Douglas Nelson, Milwaukee, is the President and CEO of the AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin.
  16. Richard Perry, Beloit, is the Executive Director of the Beloit Area Community Health Center.
  17. Elizabeth Raduege, Hayward, is a family physician at Hayward Clinic.
  18. Kurt Reed, Marshfield, is the Director of Clinical Research at the Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation.
  19. Ayaz Samadani, Beaver Dam, is a family practice physician and medical consultant for Kraft Foods and John Deere. Dr. Samadani will be serving as the Chair of the Public Health Council.
  20. Thai Vue, La Crosse, is the Executive Director of the La Crosse Area Hmong Mutual Assistance Association.
  21. JoAnn Weidmann, Waukesha, is retired and serves on the Waukesha County Health and Human Services Board and the Waukesha County Health Council.
  22. Julie Willems Van Dijk, Wausau, is the Health Officer at the Marathon County Health Department.
  23. Jeanan Yasiri, Madison, is the Vice-President for Service Innovation at Dean Health System.

Susan Wood, Stacia Jankowski, and Jacqueline Moss of the Division of Public Health will provide staff support.

Officers for 2005

Chair: Dr. Ayaz Samadani
Vice-Chairs: Sandy Anderson and John Bartkowski
Secretary: Dr. Gary Gilmore


At its meeting in December 2004, the Council created three committees:

Priorities and Work Plan

  1. Prepare semi-annual reports to the Governor to be prepared for April and October of every year.
  2. Identify priorities for the committees for the year.
  3. Respond to emerging issues, as they become apparent.

Meeting Schedule:

Business will be conducted in meetings, conference calls and using e-mail.

All Council meetings are open to the public under Wisconsin's Open Meetings Law.

The Council will encourage public input by opening each meeting with a fifteen-minute open session for public comment.

There will be six meetings in 2005, the Council's first full year of operation. Meetings will be held every other month, usually on the second Friday of the month.

2005 schedule:
February 11, 2005
April 8, 2005
June 10, 2005
August 5, 2005
October 14, 2005
December 9, 2005

The Chair will develop the agendas and schedule in consultation with the Vice-Chairs and the Executive Committee.

Location: Meetings will be held in Madison and other locations throughout the state to meet the needs of Council members and the citizens of Wisconsin.

Internet: Department staff will provide the means to broadcast the meetings using the Internet to facilitate member participation and public access.


The Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary will be elected by Council members at the first meeting of each calendar year.

Rules of Order and Procedure (awaiting Council approval)

Web Site

A Web site has been created to post the Council's charter, meeting notices and agendas, minutes of meetings and other supporting documentation. The address is: